At the International Conference Center, Abuja on Monday September 29, 2014 converged Over 300 distinguished Nigerians for the 2014 National Honours Awards Investiture as conferred on them by the President of Nigeria

The long list of award recipients was dominated by known names in politics, security issues, sports, entertainment, business and the corporate world.

It also features names that are not very popular but whose lives are nevertheless worthy of emulation.

From the Commander of the Order of the Federal Republic, CFR to the CON, which went to about 60 of the distinguished Nigerians, there was no dull moment, President Jonathan ensured that the investiture on them was well administered in the various categories.

Over 62 persons bagged the Officer of the Federal Republic, some of them distinguished lawyers and technocrats, including the man who designed the national flag, Pa Micheal Taiwo Akinkunmi.

Another 63 bagged the OON. They range from deputy Inspectors-General of Police, civil servants, academics, and businessmen, while 50 Members of the Order of the Federal Republic collected their honours awards.

President Jonathan, however, sprang the surprises while giving out the national honours.

The Federal Government, in addition to giving the designer of the national flag, Pa Micheal Taiwo Akinkunmi, the Officer of the Federal Republic honour, he was also given an automatic employment as a Special Adviser to the President for the rest of his life.

In the same vein, a taxi driver, Mr Ime Isua, who returned the sum of eight million Naira forgotten in his vehicle, as well as the longest serving steward in the Presidential Villa, Mr Micheal Onuh, were rewarded with a housing accommodation in the Federal Capital Territory.

The event held at the International Conference Center, Abuja.

0 post comments Blogger 0 Facebook

Post a Comment

Abujatalk.Com © 2013. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Blogger